Austria's Next Topmodel

Austria's Next Topmodel is an Austrian reality documentary based on Tyra Banks America's Next Top Model that pits contestants against each other in a variety of competitions to determine who will win title of Austria's Next Topmodel, with a prize including an advertising campaign deal for Swarovski as well as a spot among the top 20 of the fourth Cycle of Germany's Next Topmodel.

The host of the show is Lena Gercke, the first winner of Germany's Next Topmodel who is also the first winner of a Top Model franchise that later becomes a host of another Top Model show. The jury will also consist of the head of vienna-based agency Wiener Models Andrea Weidler and Dutch-born runway coach Alamande Belfor.
Before the show began, it caused controversy because of another modeling contest named Österreichs (German for "Austria's") Next Topmodel, which was established in 2007. Dominik Wachta, founder of what can be described as a mix between a model casting and a beauty pageant, accused the TV channel Puls 4 for stealing his idea. Further steps to change the name of the show have been unsuccessful as it was already licensed by CBS as the role-model version created by Banks.
The first Cycle was aired in January and February 2009 and saw victory for 16-year-old Larissa Marolt from St. Kanzian am Klopeinersee. As her victory was announced, she was directly carried via helicopter to Munich and from there to Los Angeles where she would meet her competitors for winning the 4th title of Germany's Next Topmodel as the show was shot there and is scheduled to start airing one week after the final of Austria's Next Topmodel where Larissa achieved the 8th placement.

The show had a spin-off called Die Model WG where six of the girls once again moved together and got filmed over ten weeks trying out to breakthrough in the modelling business.
The second Cycle started in late 2009 and with the theme More Girls, More Jet Set, More Glamour it was promising a radical change. Amanda Belfor was replaced by former model and photographer Dominique Andreas Ortner and beauty expert Sabine Landl, who styled the girls in Cycle 1, joined the jury. Gercke and Weidler remained. However, many of the changes were not welcomed by the viewers and many did not agree with the choice of winner Aylin Kösetürk, who failed to achieve any significant success after her victory.

The third Cycle will premier in January 2011 and will also be hosted by Lena Gercke who will judge alongside designer Atil Kutoglu and runway coach Elvyra Geyer


Post a Comment